Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Tamil Nadu polls: DMK, Congress sign seat-sharing pact, Congress to contest 25 seats

Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) has allotted 25 assembly constituencies to Congress along with the Kanyakumari Lok Sabha by-election seat.

DMK president M K Stalin and Tamil Nadu Congress Committee president K S Alagiri formally signed the seat-sharing agreement at Anna Arivalayam on Sunday morning.

After their meeting, Alagiri said that their alliance will work hard to uphold secularism.

“This election is more about the need to strengthening the secular plank more than the number of seats. To prevent the spread of the BJP, which is more dangerous than the corona virus, all secular parties had to join hands with the single aim of defeating the BJP and its allies, ” Alagiri told reporters.

Expressing confidence over the alliance, Dinesh Gundu Rao, the Congress leader in-charge of Tamil Nadu, said that the DMK-led alliance will sweep the elections in Tamil Nadu.


Don't Miss

Related Articles