Sunday, April 14, 2024

First Critics’ Choice Short Film Awards: Kani Kusruti bags best actress award for ‘Maa’

South Indian actor Kani Kusruti has won the best actress award for Maa , a Tamil short film at the first Critics’ Choice Short Film Awards 2018.

‘Kani Kusruti’s nuances added life to the story of the movie’, the jury said.

The Film Critics Guild and Motion Content Group have announced their first ever winners for the Critics Choice Short Film Awards in a grand ceremony on 15th December in Mumbai.

Independent and well-known film critics across the country came together formally as the Film Critics Guild and felicitated the best short films across the spectrum in the award distribution event.

The awards span all the major categories in short film-making such as Best Film – Fiction & Non Fiction, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Director – Fiction & Non-Fiction, Best Writer, Best Editor, Best Cinematographer, and Best Score.

The short (fiction) film Sambhavtaha won multiple awards, including Best Film – Fiction, Best Actor for Vikas Patil and Best Director and Best Writer – Fiction for Gaurav Madan.

Tungrus, a 14-minute documentary which revolves around a family that has adopted a rooster and decides to kill and eat their pet to bring back the normalcy of their lives, won the Best Film Award – Non-Fiction. Rishi Chandna won Best Director – Non Fiction and Neha Mehra won the Best Editor for Tungrus

The awards ceremony was attended by some of the most talented names in the entertainment industry. Pankaj Tripathi, Sriram Raghavan, Kunal Kapoor, Gulshan Deviah, Shriya Pilgaonkar, Sohum Shah, Maneesh Sharma, Naveen Kasturia, Amole Gupte, Deepa, Bhatia and Sharat Katariya amongst others were in attendance.

Aiming to recognize and appreciate short films across the nation, the CCSFA is a first-ever collaborative effort of India’s most credible film critics and Motion Content Group.

The Film Critics Guild, India’s first registered association of film critics, is a geographically diverse cross-section of professionals who have come together to streamline the ethical and quality standards for film criticism in the country.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Don't Miss

Related Articles