Sunday, May 19, 2024

Japan’s controversial goal: FIFA explains referee’s decision

FIFA/Twitter

Football governing body FIFA have released video evidence to show that the ball did not fully cross the line on Japan’s second goal against Spain, after the goal sparked heated debate among football enthusiasts.

The goal was initially disallowed by the refree before it was reviewed by Video Assistant Referee and declared a goal.

The goal by Ao Tanaka became the decisive factor that toppled the table and gave Japan a winner’s spot in knockout stage.

Many, including football pundits, were stunned by the decision after visuals broadcasted showed the ball cross the white line.

The VAR, though, had access to multiple angles from cameras perched in line with the end line, and the video assistants concluded that those angles, which FIFA finally revealed Friday in a tweet, were definitive.

Not all are happy with VAR which reduces the human errors made by match officials.

Japan will play their last 16 match against Croatia on 5 December.

spot_img

Don't Miss

Related Articles