Atletico Madrid wins La Liga

Spanish football giant, Atletico Madrid, became La Liga champions for the first time since 2014 with veteran striker Luis Suarez scoring the winner in a 2-1 victory over Valladolid. La Liga saw a trilling title run this year with Atletico, Real Madrid and Barcelona on top of the table with close points.

Atletico finished top of the standings with 86 points, while Real finished second on 84.

Suarez, who moved from Barcelona this season, scored in the 58th minute for Atletico after Angel Correa had equalised Oscar Plano’s opener for Valladolid on Saturday.

Luis Suarez said he was grateful to Atletico Madrid for “trusting in me” as his winning goal helped them edge city rivals Real Madrid to the La Liga title in dramatic fashion.

A tearful Suarez said afterwards: “I am delighted the way Atletico have appreciated me and given me the chance to keep showing I can perform on this stage. I thank them for trusting in me. A lot of people have suffered with me, my wife, my children.