Friday, March 1, 2024

14 Lok Sabha MPs, 1 Rajya Sabha MP suspended amid demands for discussion on security breach

As proceedings continue to be marred by protests from members of the opposition benches in both Houses of Parliament, Rajya Sabha MP Derek O’Brien and 14 MPs of the Lok Sabha have been suspended for misconduct in the house.

The suspension holds for the remainder of the winter session.

On the 11th day of the Winter Session, both Houses resumed proceedings at 3 pm, following an adjournment triggered by Opposition leaders protesting a significant security breach.

The security breach occurred on Wednesday when two individuals carrying smoke canisters entered the Lok Sabha.

Amid Opposition protests, Lok Sabha resumed proceedings.

Union Parliamentary Affairs Minister Prahlad Joshi moved to suspend Opposition MPs – Vegai Srikanthan, Benny Behanan, Mohammed Javed, PR Natarajan, Kanimozhi, K Subramaniam, SR Parthiban, S Venkatesan and Manickam Tagore for gross misconduct. Via voice vote, the motion was passed.

Leaders of the Opposition were captured chanting slogans of ‘PM sadan me aao, Amit Shah sharam karo’ in both Houses.

Rajya Sabha adopted a motion to suspend TMC MP Derek O Brien for the remainder of the session for his alleged misconduct amid the uproar. Rajya Sabha Chair Dhankhar called O’Brien’s behaviour an ignoble misconduct and a shameful incident, adding that the TMC MP had defied the chair.


Don't Miss

Related Articles