Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Topic: Rajya Sabha

BJP wins lone Rajya Sabha seat in Himachal Pradesh as nine Congress MLAs cross-voted in favour of BJP

In a huge setback to the Congress, the BJP has managed to pull off a victory for its candidate in the lone Rajya Sabha seat in Himachal Pradesh despite having only 25 MLAs in the 68-member Assembly.

Congress 3, BJP 1: RS poll results out for Karnataka, setback for BJP-JD(S) alliance as MLA cross-votes, another abstains

The ruling Congress in Karnataka won three seats and the BJP one in the Rajya Sabha elections in Karnataka on Tuesday.

Rajya Sabha passes Telecommunications Bill that allows Union govt to take control of services

The Rajya Sabha on 21 December passed the omnibus Telecom Bill 2023 that provides for the Centre to temporarily take control of telecom services in the interest of national security.

49 Oppn MPs suspended from Parliament today, 141 suspensions so far

In a dramatic turn of events, the suspension of 79 Opposition MPs in a single day has been exacerbated by an additional 49 members facing same action today. This escalates the total tally of suspended MPs this session to an astounding 141, setting a new record for the highest number of suspensions in parliamentary history.

45 Rajya Sabha MPs suspended amid protests over breach – 78 suspensions in a day so far

In an unprecedented development, 78 MPs, including both Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha members, were suspended today for staging protests in demand of a statement by Union Home Minister Amit Shah on the security breach in Parliament last week.

14 Lok Sabha MPs, 1 Rajya Sabha MP suspended amid demands for discussion on security breach

As proceedings continue to be marred by protests from members of the opposition benches in both Houses of Parliament, Rajya Sabha MP Derek O’Brien and 14 MPs of the Lok Sabha have been suspended for misconduct in the house.