Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Bihar: JD(U) wins bypolls in both seats despite RJD’s spirited fight in one

The ruling Janata Dal (United) has won both the assembly seats in Bihar bypolls on Tuesday.

JD(U)’s Aman Bhushan Hajari won Kusheshwar Asthan over RJD’s Ganesh Bharti by a margin of 12,695 while In Tarapur, Rajeev Kumar Singh won over RJD’s Arun Kumar by a margin of 3,852 votes.

JD(U) workers have started celebrations as the party bagged Kusheshwar Asthan and Tarapur. 

The bypolls had witnessed a moderate voter turnout with Kusheshwar Asthan recording 49 per cent voting while Tarapur recording 50 per cent turnout.

The Congress had also fielded its candidate from both the seats after the RJD did not take it into confidence over candidate announcement. Chirag Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party (RV) was also in the fray. It was the first electoral challenge for the LJP (RV) since the party suffered internal revolt and was split into two.

The RJD had raised concerns of “rigged” elections in both the seats and deployed heavy artillery for vote counting. Leader of Opposition Tejashwi Yadav had objected to the posting of a police officer in Kusheshwar Asthan, following which the officer was taken off election duty by the commission.


Don't Miss

Related Articles