Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Bihar: Lok Janshakti Party’s 22 top leaders resign over ticket distribution, decide to support INDIA

Twenty-two leaders of the Lok Janshakti Party resigned from the party on Wednesday expressing anger over not getting tickets for the Lok Sabha elections and said will support the Opposition INDIA bloc.

The leaders include former Bihar minister Renu Kushwaha, former MLA and the party’s national general secretary Satish Kumar, state organisation minister Ravindra Singh, Ajay Kushwaha, Sanjay Singh and state unit general secretary Rajesh Dangi.

The Lok Janshakti Party, which is part of the Bharatiya Janata Party’s National Democratic Alliance, is contesting five seats out of the 40 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar. The party is contesting from Vaishali, Hajipur, Samastipur, Khagaria and Jamui.

“When such important elections are there in the country, the LJP supremo [Chirag Paswan] has given tickets to such people that the party workers are stunned. The people who used to shout slogans ‘Hail Chirag Paswan’ day and night and hoped for a ‘new Bihar’ have been betrayed, their aspirations crushed,” Kumar told ANI news agency.

Ravindra Singh, LJP’s organisation secretary, alleged that party chief Chirag Paswan had “sold the tickets”.

He said: “Chirag Paswan has played an emotional game with the people of Bihar. When he got five seats due to our hard work, he sold all those tickets. People of Bihar will give him an answer.”


Don't Miss

Related Articles