Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Congress 3, BJP 1: RS poll results out for Karnataka, setback for BJP-JD(S) alliance as MLA cross-votes, another abstains

The ruling Congress in Karnataka won three seats and the BJP one in the Rajya Sabha elections in Karnataka on Tuesday.

Those who got elected to the Rajya Sabha are Ajay Maken, Syed Nasir Hussain and G C Chandrashekar from the Congress and BJP leader Narayansa Bhandage.

The BJP and the Janata Dal (Secular) coalition suffered a jolt in the Rajya Sabha elections as one BJP MLA voted for the Congress and another abstained.

Amid cross-voting and the Opposition alliance’s failure to break away some Congress MLAs, JD(S) candidate D Kupendra Reddy lost out on an Upper House berth, falling short by nine votes.

“I am very happy to inform you that all the Congress candidates qualified the required quota of 4500 votes in the first round itself and have won. I would like to thank all my voters and legislators. I would also like to thank Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi for giving tickets to three Congressmen of the state,” said deputy chief minister DK Shivakumar on Rajya Sabha elections.

“I thank my leadership, especially Mallikarjun Kharge, Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, KC Venugopal, Randeep Surjewala, Siddaramaiah and DK Shivakumar. They worked very hard, they had faith in us. Here, they were closely watching the movements of BJP and JD(S), they didn’t allow our MLAs to fall prey to their tactics,” Congress leader Syed Naseer Hussain said after winning the polls.


Don't Miss

Related Articles