Corrupt, dictatorial, hypocrisy, jumlajeevi among list of words now banned in parliament

According to the recent booklet by the Lok Sabha Secretariat, use of words like ‘Shakuni’ ‘jumlajeevi’, ‘baal buddhi’, ‘Covid spreader’ and ‘Snoopgate’ and even habitually used words such as ‘ashamed’, ‘abused, ‘betrayed’, ‘corrupt’, ‘drama’, ‘hypocrisy’ and ‘incompetent’ will henceforward be considered unparliamentary in both Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha.

The booklet has been released just before monsoon session beginning July 18 during which words such as ‘anarchist’, ‘dictatorial’, ‘taanashah’, ‘taanashahi’, ‘Jaichand’, ‘vinash purush’, ‘Khalistani’ and ‘khoon se kheti’ would also be obliterated if used during debates or otherwise in both the houses.

The booklet also contains unparliamentary expressions such as’ dohra charitra’, ‘nikamma’, ‘nautanki’, ‘dhindora peetna’ and ‘behri sarkar’.

Some words and expressions are occasionally declared unparliamentary by the Chair in distinct Legislative bodies in the country as well as in Commonwealth Parliaments, and have been organized by the Lok Sabha Secretariat for ready reference in the future.

However, the Rajya Sabha Chairman and the Lok Sabha Speaker will have the last word in expunging words and expressions.

The compilation contains references to words and expressions declared unparliamentary in Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and state legislatures in India during 2021. Additionally, it also contains those disallowed in some of the Commonwealth Parliaments in 2020.

The list states that some of the keywords may not appear unparliamentary unless read in concurrence with the other expressions spoken during the parliamentary proceedings.

The list of expressions also includes any vilifications made against the Chair in both the houses in either English or Hindi, shall be considered as unparliamentary and would be expunged from the records of Parliament.

Rajya Sabha Chairman or Lok Sabha Speaker censors the words spoken in the house during the session and unparliamentary words are obliterated by the Chair. Such words do not form part of the Parliament records of both Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha.

Among some of the English words listed by the Secretariat as unparliamentary include ‘bloodshed’, ‘bloody’, ‘betrayed’, ‘ashamed’, ‘abused’, ‘cheated, ‘chamcha’, ‘chamchagiri’, ‘chelas’, ‘childishness’, ‘corrupt’, ‘coward’, ‘criminal’ and ‘crocodile tears’.

Besides words like ‘disgrace’, ‘donkey’, ‘drama’, ‘eyewash’, ‘fudge’, ‘hooliganism’, ‘hypocrisy’, ‘incompetent’, ‘mislead’, ‘lie’ and ‘untrue’ would also be barred for use in Parliament henceforth.

Among some of the Hindi words listed as unparliamentary include ‘anarchist’, ‘gaddar’, ‘girgit’, ‘goons’, ‘ghadiyali ansu’, ‘apmaan’, ‘asatya’, ‘ahankaar’, ‘corrupt’, ‘kala din’, ‘kala bazaari’ and ‘khareed farokht’.

Besides, words like ‘danga’, ‘dalal’, ‘daadagiri’, ‘dohra charitra’, ‘bechara’, ‘bobcut’, ‘lollypop’, ‘vishwasghat’, ‘samvedanheen’, ‘foolish’, ‘pitthu’, ‘behri sarkar’ and ‘sexual harassment’ would be considered as unparliamentary and would not be included as part of record.