Sunday, December 10, 2023

CPJ’s International Press Freedom Awards: Neha Dixit and five others won

Must Read

- Advertisement -

CPJ’s annual International Press Freedom Awards and benefit dinner will honor courageous journalists from around the world on Thursday, November 21, 2019, in New York City. The Committee to Protect Journalists will honor journalists from Brazil, India, Nicaragua, and Tanzania with the 2019 International Press Freedom Awards amid the erosion of press freedom in democracies around the globe. Indian journalist Neha Dixit has won the Award for 2019. She is among five winners from four countries.

CPJ’s 2019 awardees are:

Patrícia Campos Mello, Brazil

(Marcos Villas Boas)

Patrícia Campos Mello is an award-winning reporter and columnist at the daily Folha de S. Paulo and an international correspondent. During the Brazilian presidential election campaign in 2018, she was attacked online and doxxed in response to her coverage of supporters of then presidential-candidate Jair Bolsonaro allegedly sponsoring bulk messaging in WhatsApp.

Neha Dixit, India

(Rajni George)

Neha Dixit is a freelance independent journalist in India, who has shed light on important human rights issues through her investigative journalism. She has faced legal and physical threats, as well as online harassment, after reporting on alleged wrongdoing by right-wing nationalist groups and police.

Lucía Pineda Ubau and Miguel Mora, Nicaragua

(100% Noticias)

Lucía Pineda Ubau is the news director of the Nicaraguan broadcaster 100% Noticias, and Miguel Mora is the outlet’s founder and editor. Both were imprisoned in December 2018–and freed in June–in connection to their coverage of political unrest in the country. The outlet is banned from broadcasting in Nicaragua, and the government has seized its studio and equipment.

Maxence Melo Mubyazi, Tanzania

(Jamii Forums)

Maxence Melo Mubyazi is a champion of online freedom of expression in Tanzania. He is the co-founder and managing director of Jamii Forums, a popular East and Central African website and discussion forum that is a source of breaking news. He has been charged under the country’s restrictive Cybercrimes Act and, in 2017, appeared in court 81 times.

Gwen Ifill Press Freedom Award Winner

CPJ’s Gwen Ifill Press Freedom Award is presented annually to an individual who has shown extraordinary and sustained achievement in the cause of press freedom.

Originally the Burton Benjamin Memorial Award, it was renamed in 2017 to honor Gwen Ifill, the veteran journalist and former CPJ board member who died in late 2016.

(White Star/Arif Mehmood)

Zaffar Abbas

Zaffar Abbas is the editor of Dawn, Pakistan’s leading daily. Abbas, who has decades of experience as a reporter in Pakistan, has led Dawn since 2010. Under his editorship, Dawn and its reporters have come under government pressure several times.

- Advertisement -


  1. A person essentially lend a hand to make seriously articles I might state. That is the first time I frequented your web page and so far? I surprised with the analysis you made to make this particular submit extraordinary. Magnificent task!|


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Don't Miss

Related Articles