Sunday, February 25, 2024

Mizoram: ZPM heading for landslide victory, MNF trailing far behind in single digit

In Mizoram, Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) is in the lead with 26 seats, followed by the Mizo National Front (MNF) with six seats, BJP with three seats, and the Congress with two seats.

ZPM secured its first victory in Tuichang, with MNF MLA and state Deputy CM Tawnluia losing to ZPM’s W Chhuanawma.

The counting of votes polled in the assembly elections in Mizoram began at 8 am on Monday amid tight security.

Mizoram, which held its single-phase polls on November 7, experienced a one-day delay in vote counting.

ZPM Chief Ministerial candidate Lalduhoma said, “…I am not surprised this is what I expected… Let the full results come out… The counting process is going on…”

A total of 174 candidates contested in the Mizoram Assembly election. Of the 174, ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) and Congress had contested all 40 seats each while BJP contested on 23 constituencies.

The elections are largely anticipated to be a three-way contest, with the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) aiming for another term, the Congress hoping to make a comeback after a poor show in 2018, and the much younger ZPM emerging as a serious contender.


Don't Miss

Related Articles