Sunday, February 25, 2024

Top 10 points: Four Assembly elections and their results

In four Assembly elections, viewed as a semi-final to the 2024 general election, the BJP has clinched victories in three states, leaving the Congress to seek solace in a single win in the South.

Madhya Pradesh, initially anticipated to witness a tight competition, witnessed a decisive victory as the BJP secured a substantial win over the Congress. The outcome is a significant disappointment for the Congress, which had thrown its weight behind former Chief Minister Kamal Nath and given him a free hand, hoping for a victory.

The Rajasthan results align with the exit poll forecasts indicating a BJP triumph, maintaining the state’s tradition of not re-electing the ruling party. Eastern Rajasthan, encompassing numerous Gujjar-dominated areas, has shifted away from Congress control, contributing to the BJP’s overall tally. Additionally, the saffron party has achieved notable advances in the western regions.

In a surprising turn of events, the BJP has defied exit poll expectations in Chhattisgarh, where a Congress triumph was anticipated. Initially, the day saw the Congress in the lead, but the BJP steadily closed the gap and ultimately seized a substantial lead as the counting unfolded.

In Telangana, the Congress finds solace as it secures a triumph over the ruling Bharat Rashtra Samithi, which had held sway over the southern state since its formation in 2014. State Congress chief Revanth Reddy, appointed in 2021, is credited with a pivotal role in this victory.

Reddy’s leadership, coupled with unwavering support from the Congress high command, has proven to be a successful combination.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi thanked the people for their “unwavering support” in the three of the four states whose results were announced today. In his victory speech, he exuded confidence that this “hat-trick of victories” is a guarantee for “2024 hat-trick.”

In Rajasthan, of the Congress’s 17 ministers in the contest, only four won, including incumbent Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot.

Congress leader Rahul Gandhi accepted the people’s mandate of Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan and thanked the people of Telangana.

“We humbly accept the mandate of Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan – the battle of ideology will continue. I am very thankful to the people of Telangana – we will definitely fulfill the promise of making Prajalu Telangana. Heartfelt thanks to all the workers for their hard work and support,” he said in post on X.

With the BJP heading towards a win in three of the four states that went to elections, the party will now be ruling 12 states in the country, while the Congress will come down to three after losing Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh. The Aam Aadmi Party, ruling Delhi and Punjab, is third among national parties.


Don't Miss

Related Articles