Monday, June 17, 2024

Nayab Singh Saini to be Haryana new CM after Khattar, ministers resign

Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar resigned on Tuesday morning along with his ministers ahead of a Cabinet reshuffle, with its ties with its alliance partner JJP headed for a split ahead of the Lok Sabha elections.

Nayab Singh Saini will be the new Chief Minister of Haryana, the party said Tuesday afternoon.

Saini – the MP from Haryana’s Kurukshetra and the party’s state chief – will be sworn in at 5 pm.

The ties between the BJP and deputy chief minister Dushyant Chautala-led JJP had worsened following their failure to reach a seat-sharing agreement in the state for the Lok Sabha elections. The BJP had won all 10 Lok Sabha seats in the state in the 2019 elections.

BJP claimed that it has enough numbers – 41 MLAs, plus five independents, taking it past the half-way mark of 45 seats in the Haryana assembly. In the 90-member Haryana assembly the BJP has 41 MLAs, it also enjoys the support of 5 independent MLAs and the HLP MLA Gopal Kanda.

Congress MP Deepender Hooda said, “All that is happening in Haryana is because the public has decided to bring change. The public was upset with the present government in the state. We are keeping a close eye on the developments.”


Don't Miss

Related Articles