Sunday, May 19, 2024

Kerala registers final voter turnout of 77.68 per cent in Lok Sabha 2019

Kerala has registered a voter turnout of 77.68% with a total of 203,13,833 votes polled, as per the figures released by the Election Commission. This is higher than the 73.94% voting that was witnessed in 2014 General Elections. 

The elections for the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state were completed in a single phase on Tuesday. Kannur in north Kerala saw the highest voter turnout at 83.05%, while Thiruvananthapuram witnessed the lowest voting percentage at 73.45. Thiruvananthapuram witnessed a high-profile contest between the UDF’s Shashi Tharoor, LDF’s C Divakaran and NDA’s Kummanam Rajasekharan. The other constituencies which saw high voter turnout include Wayanad – 80.31%, Chalakudy – 80.44%, Alapuzzha – 80.09%, Alathur – 80.33%, Kasaragod – 80.57%. 

Wayanad gained special prominence this time around with Congress President Rahul Gandhi deciding to contest from the seat, apart from his usual constituency of Amethi. Vadakara and Kozhikode saw voting of 82.48% and 81.47% respectively. 

Voter turnout in Palakkad, Thrissur and Ernakulam constituencies stood at 77.67%, 77.86% and 77.54%.  Idukki recorded polling percentage of 76.01. Above 75% voting was witnessed in Kottayam and Malappuram with figures of 75.29% and 75.43% respectively. Voter turnout in Attingal and Kollam constituencies was above 74 per cent – 74.23% and 74.36% respectively. Mavelikkara, Pathanamthitta and Ponnani recorded voter turnouts of  74.09%, 74.19% and 74.96% respectively. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Don't Miss

Related Articles