Sunday, March 3, 2024

Telengana: Revanth Reddy sworn-in as first Congress CM; Bhatti Vikramarka as state’s first Dalit Dy CM

Revanth Reddy was sworn in as the chief minister of Telangana by Governor Dr Tamilisai Soundararajan at the L B Stadium in Hyderabad, while Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka was sworn in as his deputy.

As many as 10 other ministers, namely N Uttam Kumar Reddy, Komatireddy Venkat Reddy, Ponnam Prabhakar, Dasari Anasuya, Damodar Raja Narasimha, D Sridhar Babu, Thummala Nageshwara Rao, Ponguleti Srinivasa Reddy, Konda Surekha, and Jupally Krishna Rao, were also took oath today.

Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge, senior leaders Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi and Karnataka CM D K Shivkumar were all in attendance.

Reddy will be the first Congress Chief Minister of Telangana after it was carved in 2014. Reddy was an easy choice for the Congress with a majority of the newly-elected MLAs favouring him.

Taking oath at the L B Stadium in Hyderabad today, Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka has become Telangana’s first Dalit deputy chief minister. He was one of the most prominent faces of the Congress’s campaign in the state polls.


Don't Miss

Related Articles