Monday, December 11, 2023

Assembly elections: Mizoram, Chhattisgarh’s 20 constituencies vote today

Must Read

- Advertisement -

Voting for the 40-seat Mizoram Assembly and 20 out of 90 Assembly constituencies in Chhattisgarh began on Tuesday.


Mizoram has a total of 8,56,868 registered voters spread across 1,276 polling stations. A total of 174 candidates are in the fray for the Mizoram polls.

The Mizo National Front, which is part of the Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance, had won 26 out of 40 Assembly seats in the 2018 polls. The Congress had secured five seats while the BJP won a single seat.


In Chhattisgarh, the Congress is seeking to fend off the challenge from the BJP and retain power.

Out of the 20 seats where polling is taking place on Tuesday, the Congress had won 19 in the last elections.

223 candidates will be contesting in the first phase of Chhattisgarh assembly elections.

The second phase of polling in Chhattisgarh will take place on November 17.

- Advertisement -

Don't Miss

Related Articles