Thursday, February 22, 2024

“People’s victory over hate,” Trinamul headed for 4-0 win as Bengal bypoll counting progresses

Chief Minister and Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee congratulated her party candidates after their victory in the October 30 by-polls.

“My heartiest congratulations to all the four winning candidates! This victory is people’s victory, as it shows how Bengal will always choose development and unity over propaganda and hate politics. With people’s blessings, we promise to continue taking Bengal to greater heights!” Banerjee said in a tweet.

Mamata‘s party is all set to extend its official tally of MLAs to 218 as the party is leading comfortably in the October 30 by-polls to all the four Assembly seats-Dinhata, Santipur, Khardaha, and Gosaba-counting of which is underway on Tuesday. 

Celebrations have begun in West Bengal as Trinamool Congress’ Udayan Guha has won the Dinhata by a margin of 1,63,005 votes. The party is also leading with massive margins in the remaining three Assembly constituencies.

 The bypolls in Dinhata and Santipur which the BJP held were seen as a prestige battle for BJP, which is currently grappling with an exodus of MLAs and senior leaders.


Don't Miss

Related Articles